A Blog Worth Reading

Technology is pretty cool. Without it, blogging wouldn’t be around, because computers, electricity, satellite and even wires wouldn’t be around to make it happen. In olden days, girls like me might’ve played dolls in their free time, provided they had finished chores, school and had kept out of mischief on the way home! Perhaps they spent time writing thrilling novels, like Jo March in Little Women. Or maybe they occupied their time sewing, baking or reading. These days however, at least for some of us, it’s computers and more computers for a lot of our time. My Mum thinks it’s important that we kids have good computer skills, because they are part of our future. I agree. Recently though, I’ve realized that I spend way too much time on the computer, which is bad. Surely if girls for the last 5,000 years – just like you and I – could occupy just as much time playing without technology, so can we.

This entry isn’t about what to do instead of being on the computer, but rather, what I blog about. If I am going to spend time on the computer, I want to use it wisely. I don’t want to have green-tinted skin because of the amount of time I spend surfing the internet. Maybe that’s part of the reason I don’t have a large lot of friends; my friend list is a list I can wisely use my time checking up on.  As Alex and Brett Harris write in the Rebelution, “If I spend more and more time surfing the internet, what will I long to do when I’m bored? Surf the internet.” If I’m going to blog, I want it to be worthwhile. Of late, I’ve been reading a lot of articles that are helping me see I need to start pulling my socks up with my blog. It’s made me think of what I want my blog to actually be about. When it comes down to it, I really want to:

1. Share schoolwork and character articles. Why spend a heap of time writing something new every week for my blog when I can just post schoolwork! Our Character building resource is Character First!, and for every trait we study Josh and I have to write five articles or notebook pages; I plan to post at least one of them here to share and encourage. When I write a worthwhile notebook page, I’ll probably post it here too. Because I also want to…

2. Avoid writing ‘twaddle’. What thought-provoking, enjoyable, popular blog writes, ‘hey sorry i haven’t been in a while. I broke my arm yesterday on my skatebaord well got to go now bye’? This is extremely pathetic twaddle; I don’t want my blog to be about nothing in particular. My blog is for Jesus to use me, change me, mold me, and, I pray, change and mold others. I’m not banning myself from writing about my life – no, on the contrary; I plan to write about my life. I don’t actually think I will be able to stay away from writing about my life for very long anyway. I don’t want to be a dead serious blogger either; I can’t keep a straight face to save my life.

3. Perhaps share a favourite song Gods’ been speaking to me about. I love music. I love singing and playing the piano. Keith Green is an amazing person who wrote amazing songs and had amazing talents. Those songs are ones that are changing me. On my banner above, notice the words, ‘when there’s love, mountains move!’ They come from one of my most favourite songs of all times, ‘When There’s Love’, written by Keith Green.

My number one desire for this blog is to share my faith and character movements in my life. As I wrote before, my blog is for Jesus to use me, change me, mold, me, and I pray will change you too.

Articles that have helped me want to change:

The Rebelution site

Agent Tim’s article in the HSB library, titled ‘Teens and Blogging’

A Cindy Rushton internet cemina with guest speaker Eric Novak

4 tips on how to write good (like me) from The Rebelution

Bored? Read This! From the Rebelution

Amanda Dixon from The Daily Planet

This entry was written just as much for my benefit as yours. If I’ve given you something to think about, read and talk to God about, then I’ve written a good post.

Leave a comment