The Random Mind of Jess, C. Saturday 12:30pm

It’s been a while, guys. I really don’t like saying that << because it feels like you spend so long writing about why you haven’t been writing and giving a thousand apologies and promising (normally without fruition) to do better in the future, and now that I think about it Blogging Experts do tell you not to do this, but I just did it, so oops. There, intro done.

Today’s blog post is courtesy of randomness and What I’ve Been. (That sounds like my Steak And Cheese on flatbread Subway I get every single time: with no cheese. So I basically eat a Steak And. Mum thought that was funny but the lady behind the counter didn’t get it.) Here’s going. Life as of late.

wp-1487395920582.jpg

So last year I swapped to liquid foundation makeup. And I really really liked it. But lately it just stopped looking right, so I switched back to powder and been like, man Jess-  on point (for someone who doesn’t do makeup to the ninth). Apparently it could be the summer/winter thing, which is weird, considering I haven’t been outside much at ALL this summer. Work, drive, phone, sleep, repeat. Nearly. I’m thankful my phone screen light doesn’t give a light-tan, because that would be telling and probably uneven.

Speaking of phones, I’m feeling quite addicted and attached to it at the moment. Any tips on… not, being addicted? I don’t like needing my phone to get out of awkward situations (even awkward movie scenes when it feels like by watching it I’m revealing my soul to the world watching it with me) or always wondering what’s out there that I haven’t seen in the last… two minutes. Even if whatever is new is probably uninteresting anyway. My new tactic is to leave my phone turned off and in a cool spot in my car while I’m at work so I can’t sneak a peek while I’m at the desk. Also am trying not to look at it first thing in the morning (because that’s just pitiful).

Moving on to other addicting things – FOOD. I’m trialing dairy free at the moment because I have a suspicion I’m slightly lactose intolerant. I should get it properly tested because if I’m not TIM TAMS HERE I COME. It’s been interesting to see what I can and cannot eat (cheese nacho chips RIP) but after a week or two, I’m not missing it quite as much. I think the trick will be to make sure I find interesting and yummy, even unhealthy, foods I can
eat. I’m yet to try almond milk hot chocolates but I’m looking forward to that. J However, I’ve learned the hard way that just because I wp-1487394046068.jpgcan’t eat chocolate, I’m not automatically justified to eat over half a packet of jelly beans in one afternoon. I think this dairy-free lifestyle could help cut out a bit of sugar, if I steer clear of the jelly beans, as well, but my goal is more for healthy insides from the dairy than a completely healthy diet. (bonus: delish avocado smash? Yes please!! Substitute the Dijon mustard for juice 1/2 lemon and 2.5 teaspoons of whole seed mustard and add spinach and poached egg. I think this is my new Saturday morning breakfast/brunch so I actually eat something.)

Just before Christmas I bought a new pair of
shoes (something Jess hardly ever does; she knows a few boys with significantly more pairs of shoes than her), from an AUSTRALIAN website called The Nodule Shoes Company. Oh wow they are so good! They are perfect for work because of the incredible support they give, without being clunky or ugly. The sole resembles that of gecko feet without the suction of LarryBoy’s ears. There may even be a second pair of red shoes coming in the mail… stay tuned on Instagram peeps.

Work has been interesting. It is so much quieter than my last job. Previously I was in charge of bookkeeping, front desk, and training staff; I helped with building websites, business cards, and newsletters; I fixed tech problems; and organised events. It was a lot, and I do miss that type of work and the amount I juggled. I’ve noticed my interest and confidence in fixing technology problems has decreased steeper than the stock market on decline since I left in October, but it’s picking back up again as I remember that I can do this when the need arises. My new job, although quieter, means working with 100 other employees across the Kimberley and Australia in many different departments – education, employment, mentoring, parent support, housing, governance, and finance. The people are so lovely and fun to work with! The slower pace and less stress has been the bomb and such a blessing, too. Lately I have been asked to liaise with a local travel agent and charter companies to organise flights for students and guardians in an education program we run. I have really enjoyed that PA-type work and working with the travel agent industry.

I don’t want this blog post to get too long, so I’ll leave you with a photo of my finalised desk space. Isn’t it purty?

wp-1487393765933.jpg

I hope you have had a beautiful week and this weekend is full of pretty things, time to relax, people you love, and people who love you!

Love.

PS: I went to a music quiz night this week. The only song I knew was “I’m a Barbie Girl” but I wore a pink hat and my work colleagues/team mates and I had fun. 😉

2 thoughts on “The Random Mind of Jess, C. Saturday 12:30pm

  1. Girl you are such a gifted writer! I am still smiling because I so enjoy reading your posts. 🙂 Don’t worry, I take forever to write the next post. I guess it’s best to ignore it and pretend it was only last week when you wrote your last blog post. 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

