I remembered that I really like fiction

French.jpg

Last year I really enjoyed reading fiction. Sometimes I get a bit absorbed with the Important Books that I don’t make time to read the fiction, or I finish a series and don’t get back into another one. I’m a bit spasmodic. This year I read about five, and most of them were of the I really want to read these books because they sound really interesting, not because they have been on my to-read list for ten years kind. They turned out to be quite good reads and now I am quite excited about reading more. Here they my five!

  1. Going Postal, by Terry Pratchett – I finally actually read a Terry Pratchett and may I just say, he is a magician with words near akin to the great Charles Dickens. This story starts with a fraud and thief choosing Postmaster over Death, and how he, through a cunning (and sometimes slightly devious) understanding of the ways of humanity, manages to reignite the dusty post office and wage war with the modern communication system ruled by Bad Guys, The Clacks. It was a fun, witty, and inquisitive read.
  2. The Red House Mystery, by AA Milne – one can sniff the faint scent of the Hundred Acre Woods as you read this story. It has the same flavour and turn of phrase, yet this time, the game is afoot as the characters try to solve the case of a missing, possibly dead, man. It’s a fun and light whodunit.
  3. Amy Snow, by Tracy Rees– I actually listened to this book when I had to take sick leave after scratching my eye with chemicals leaving me wearing sunglasses in a dark room for four days. Don’t do that. It was hard to believe that this was her debut novel; the authoress had a wistful, enchanting writing style that told the intriguing saga of an orphaned, spited girl left with a trail of hidden messages by the only friend she ever had, to explore her place in the world and discover truth previously hidden.
  4. In His Steps, by Charles Sheldon – it’s a classic that I had been told to read for years. It was a really challenging book about the lifestyle of Christians. What if we seriously, actually did What Jesus Would Do? How would it change our lives, our towns, the world? It is a question that still challenges me months after reading the novel.
  5. The Forgotten Garden, by Kate Morton – truth be told I’m cheating here as I read most of it in 2016, but I did start it last year and being on holidays was kind of like a 2015 extension. 🙂 I really liked this book! I am now hooked on Kate Morton as an author and really want to read another of hers soon. This thick book – it was thick – jumped back and forth through the 20th century trying to unriddle the unknown life of Nell O’Conner, found on an Australian wharf as an abandoned four year old. Who was she, really, and who was her family? It was addictive, so well-written, and tussles with some of the bad things people do and why they do it.

What about you? do you have a favourite book from 2015? Here’s to reading more fabulous, curious, exciting, deftly-written, brilliant stories in 2016.

Leave a Reply

