Update 01: 101 goals in 1001 days

Jess - September 2015It’s been a few months since I started my 101 goals in 1001 days from Day Zero Project (which you can read all about on my original blog post… shameless plug) so it’s about time I wrote an update.

I have 884 days to go and am 15.2% of the way through my list of 132 items! The list is working really well for me, and in typical Jessica fashion, here is a list of three reasons why:

  1. It reminds me of the things I said I wanted to do so I don’t forget I said so;
  2. It keeps me challenged; when I think I’m drifting without a challenge to work towards, I find my list and choose something to start working on;
  3. It inspires me to do lots of other things I hadn’t included in my list. Writing a list of 132 things I want to do, and can do, in the next 2.75 years of my life, really got my random opinion-juices flowing, which benefited from a little wake up. I often think now, ‘That’s something I really want to do! Is it on my list?’ Even if it’s not on the list, I try to do it anyway.

With that said, here are some of the goals I have completed or started since undertaking the Day Zero challenge:

  1. Use coloured pencils for my Bible – I ended up buying gel highlighters. They work really well and I have so much fun using the different colours when something jumps out at me, or is something I need to remember.
  2. Housesit – you can read about this in this blog post! I’ve housesat twice now, and loved it both times!
  3. Go to the rodeo – this was the first thing to tick off my list. I actually ended up pressing the buzzer button with Nomi in the tower, so we had a birdseye’s view of the show.
  4. Paint my bedroom – post to follow!
  5. Relearn parallel parking – all I needed was five minutes and the parking lot to try it again. I finally grabbed the chance outside the library, although the man in the car on the other side of the road watching me was a little unnerving…
  6. Try a new flavour of ice cream – pistachio ice cream is disgusting. Peanut butter ice cream is surprisingly okay.
  7. Blog once a week for a month – obviously, I haven’t kept this one up exactly, but the exercise showed me that a) it’s doable, and b) it was a really good routine for me to get into.
  8. Play the piano in Church – this isn’t completed until I’ve done it five times, but so far I’ve played piano three times in Church and I have loved it! I played in our old Church a few years ago, but I am enjoying it and feel like I am succeeding more now. The expectations are different, there are guitarists to carry the melody (leaving me to just play chords), and I am older now, and all those things make a big difference (and Jesus!)
  9. Play touch footy – I realised recently that all my outside of work activities were me giving to others, or one-on-one, deep and meaningful mentor-type conversations, and I wasn’t getting any ‘me in the community just as a person’ time. I am still learning the ropes, making heaps of mistakes, and feeling very nervous, but I’ve started, and that’s really good! The real hurdle for me was playing a new sport, something I’ve stayed clear of for the last five or six years. It’s basically rugby, but instead of tackling, defenders touch the attack, which evens the playing field so that girls and guys can play together (me? get tackled to the ground by ten guys? No thank you!). I still have to remind myself when I face the tough, scary-looking guy I’m defending that all I have to do is touch him, not pin him to the ground or anything radical!
  10. Play ultimate Frisbee – it’s a lot of fun to play! We play a quick game before touch starts when we can.

What new things have you started, or projects have you completed lately? I am looking forward to ticking more things off my list and seeing how I go with the rest of them!

Thanks for reading!
Jess

10 thoughts on “Update 01: 101 goals in 1001 days

  1. Thanks Jess!! You inspirinded me* to go check my dayzero list. I haven’t finished going thru the whole thing yet but I already have one that needs to be ticked off! I sold and artwork!!!!!! 😉 Good post, wish I could blowrite like you**.

    great selfy btw!!!

    *inspired reminded
    **blog write

    1. Hi Nomi! Aww you inspire me allll the time! Thank you! Lemme know if you want some ideas… I’m sure we can think of SOMETHING!

      BTW, i love the way YOU write. So keep it up!
      Mwah!

  2. I love this! It’s just up my alley because I LOVE lists, and checking things off of them, lol!
    It was fun reading about your list and how you’re working on it!

    1. Lists for the win!! Maybe it comes with the name… I’m sure we’ve discussed this before!

      I am really glad you enjoyed the read!
      xx

  3. Great to read about all the cool things you are ticking off your list. Keep up the good work! 🙂

    Hayley

    >

Leave a Reply

