A Boondoggle to Remember

What do normal 20 year olds do to celebrate their birthday?! This one had me puzzled. I wanted to do something really fun and young-hearted, but laser tagging and bowling alleys aren’t found in my neck of the woods, so Mum and I had to get creative.

We decided to go boondoggling!

Boondoggling: trivial, useless, or worthless work.

In essence, we split into teams of three with mixed ages, and gave them a scavenger hunt and photo challenge to complete around town. The more photos we took, and the more creatively we interacted with the challenge, the more points we scored. And since a photo is worth a thousand words, here are the photos to compensate for my lack of explaining how awesome a day this was.

Car wash

Childhood memory: when I was 14, I hit my head with a kneeboard, resulting in 10 stitches above my eyebrow and an epic story to tell.
Childhood memory: when I was 14, I hit my head with a kneeboard, resulting in 10 stitches above my eyebrow and an epic story to tell.
Post Office mysteries
Post Office mysteries
She wasn't jealous, not at all...
She wasn’t jealous, not at all…
Biggest tree in town
Biggest tree in town. This team did really well because they had a lot of little kids. Some of the photos they put up were hilarious!
Photo bomb!
Photo bomb!
Don't look behind you, but...
Don’t look behind you, but…
2 thoughts on “A Boondoggle to Remember

  1. Love this! It looks like so much fun 😀 When I saw the subject line, I thought, “What on earth is a boondoggle? it must be one of those Australian words!” Hehe! Boondoggling looks like it is more fun than bowling or laser tag anyway 😀 😀

    Boondoggling…boondoggling…I like this word 😀

Leave a Reply

