Foe to friend

I used to snub the younger girls at my Church. There were a few I’d spend a bit of time with, but generally speaking, I was so much more superior and grown up and they were not worth my time.

eh-heh.

God really worked on my heart there – he showed me that I am not not not better than they are. I am only who I am by the grace of God. That’s it. God also showed me that this is a brilliant opportunity to love people; to be an example to these girls, to be someone they can trust and talk to, to be a friend, and to point them to Jesus.

So that next Sunday, I started hanging out with them – asking them questions, giving them hugs, smiling, listening, joking, and just being a friend. It took a little bit of patience, it took a bit of adjusting to on both sides of the spectrum, but I think it’s worth it. Now I love these girls – we have so much fun together, we joke around, and we can talk about God.

I’m so glad God didn’t leave me in my sinful state. And I am so glad he didn’t leave me in my proud, arrogant state of heart, because I’d have missed out on so much love between each other.

Powered by Plinky

2 thoughts on “Foe to friend

  1. What a great testimony, Jess! I feel much the same way about some of the boys, even ones my age, at our church. It can be hard when you feel like other people don’t ‘match’ your standards. But that’s where God’s incredible graces steps in!
    Thank you for the encouragement!

  2. So good, Jess! Thank you for the reminder and the encouragement 🙂 I’ve discovered some really good friends in the ‘younger girl’ group that I hadn’t noticed before, or thought they wouldn’t want to be bothered with an ‘older girl’ like me 😀

Leave a Reply

