Me voted.

Voting 2013

A first for me today: voting!  I was pretty excited.  I think it was because it was something new, a requirement and privilege bestowed on me that had never been bestowed on me before because I was underage.  In other words: it was for ‘big people’, and I had never been ‘big enough’ to do it before! I have never been very interested in politics, unless it had to do with watching the votes roll in during the federal elections. (I don’t know why that, of all things, interested me at age nine or eleven, but it did.)  However, politics is starting to make a bit more sense now, thus growing more interesting.  Slowly.  Today was our state elections for W.A.

We walked up the entrance and found Josh (who has a great blog and talks about Australian politics) handing out how-to-vote cards for the Liberals (side note for Americans: Liberal is Australia’s major conservative party, not liberal as in the left-wing party Americans associate the word with.  And Australians, please, I’m sorry, but I don’t want to get into a fight over politics with you!)   I thought the blue t-shirt was pretty cool; I wanted one too. Anyway; we thought we’d better take a photo to represent my first day voting and Josh’s involvement in local politics.

World, here we come!

9 thoughts on “Me voted.

  1. That’s great, Jess – we were thinking of you this morning.
    Four years till the next state election and I’ll be able to vote! (Maybe even run for a party, too!)

    1. Hey, that would be neat Jerome! Keep pursuing excellence in every area of your life now, and don’t live up to the lie that teenagers can’t get involved!

  2. Congrats Jess. It looks like you’ve “made it”!!! and the photo looks great. Trust you were able to sort out the issues for WA clearly as every vote counts.

  3. Woohoo! I’m glad you made that clarification about the Liberals in Australia, lol! I figured it had to be different than here in America, but it was funny to see you standing in front of a huge ‘Liberals’ sign 😀 Do you get to vote in the swimming pool?? Hehe, I’m kidding! 😀

    1. LOL Jessica! I knew you guys would read it, so I knew I had to clarify that!

      The pool is actually in the same venue as the gym and the leisure centre/indoor basketball/theatre, so that’s where we voted. 🙂

Leave a Reply

