turning one…

Dig through your couch cushions, your purse, or the floor of your car and look at the year printed on the first coin you find. What were you doing that year? (idea from The Daily Post)

Grabbed my purse.  Opened the zip, and pulled out a 10 cents coin.

1979.

Hm.  Wasn’t born then.

Second round; a $1 coin:

1984.

Hm.  Slightly better, but still ten years off any possibility of being born.

Round three; another $1 coin.

1984. Again. Still not born!

Round four finds me with a shiny five cents;

1995!  Finally! But only just – in September 1995 I was celebrating my 1st birthday.  My very first cake was a bowl of watermelon, candle and all!  Needless to say, I really felt the love.turning one

Mum wrote in a letter to Grandma:

August (11mo) And talk!  She yabbers away.  When Josh and Jess wake up at the same time they talk away together for ages.

September (12mo) Jess just can’t grow up quick enough; she wants to do everything that Josh does – go outside the fence (she follows him around the fence line – him outside, her inside) put hand cream on, drink cordial out of a cup, run, ride a bike, chase Tyke [the dog] (though she always comes off the worse as Tyke turns around, chases her, and licks her which understandably, Jess doesn’t like!)

Eight months old

JL eight months and Mum JLl checking out Mum's makeup JL baby at hose 12months JL

JL on the motorbike

This was me in 1995.  I might be biased, but I think I was pretty cute!

What were you doing in 1995?

17 thoughts on “turning one…

    1. Thanks, Rach! You could say you were practicing the art of belly-crawling, and mastering the art of melting everybody’s hearts. 😀

  1. LOL about the coins! 😛 You are sooo C.U.T.E! 🙂 🙂
    Well, it looks like we are the same age! In October 1995 I turned 1!!! 🙂 🙂

    Blessings!
    Emily xox

    1. Hi Emily! Thanks for stopping by; I’m glad you had fun reading it! I had fun going through the photos and yeah, I think I was pretty cute if I can say so myself.

      Out of curiosity, how did you find my blog? That’s neat that we’re close in age! Jess

      1. Hey Jess! 🙂

        I first found your blog about 18 months ago… but for some reason have not looked at it for AGES! 😛 I was doing a big of ‘blog searching’ the other day and came across your blog again! yay!! 🙂 🙂
        I originally came to your blog as my Mum subscribes to your mum’s blog… Mum is just soooo encouraged by your mum’s posts, and when she found out that her daughter had a blog, she thought it would be great for me to have a look! 🙂
        Hope to keep up with the blog posts from now on! 🙂 😉

        God bless you!

        ❤ Em xox

        1. Cool! Actually, you might have commented before, sorry if you did and I forgot!

          I’ll pass that on to my Mum. I love her to bits and think she’s amazing! Keep in touch! God bless, Jess

          1. I think I might’ve commented before…. but Oh I wouldn’t expect you to remember me! 🙂 😉
            Your Mum IS an amazing lady! Such a beautiful example! 🙂 🙂
            Sure will keep in touch!
            blessings,
            Em ❤

  2. That is a great post Jess – well done. fabulous opening… and yes, you were cute. but more than that you were a delight (at least when you giggled you were!!) The little ditty – there was a little girl who had a little curl, right in the middle of her forehead, when she was good she was very very good but when she was bad she was horrid! That about sums it up!! Love you.

Leave a Reply

