Seven Abominations and Seven Bits of Wisdom

“I find to this day seven abominations in my heart:

  1. Inclining to unbelief
  2. Suddenly to forget the love and mercy that Christ manifesteth
  3. A leaning to the works of the law
  4. Wanderings and coldness in prayer
  5. To forget to watch for what I pray for
  6. Apt to murmur because I have no more, and yet ready to abuse what I have
  7. I can do none of those things which God commands me, but my corruptions will thrust in themselves.  “When I would do good, evil is present with me.”

These things I continually see and feel, and am afflicted and oppressed with, yet the wisdom of God doth order them for my good:

  1. They make me abhor myself
  2. they keep me from trusting my heart
  3. They convince me of the insufficiency of all inherent righteousness
  4. They show me the necessity of flying to Jesus
  5. They press me to pray unto God
  6. They show me the need I have to watch and be sober; and
  7. Provoke me to pray unto God, through Christ to help me and carry me through the world.”
– John Bunyan, closing thoughts in Grace Abounding to the Chief of Sinners, originally published in 1666.

 Can you relate to any of these?  I can!  I was so surprised to read some of them (especially abominations numbers four, five and six) because they’re simple, little things, little ways of life, little truths, that according to John Bunyan, a faithful giant in Church history, viewed as very important things to overcome and live by.

8 thoughts on “Seven Abominations and Seven Bits of Wisdom

  1. Yes, I can definatly relate! I like the thought that Mr. Bunyan puts in your head with the line:
    ”When I would do good, evil is present with me.” I know how true that is. Whenever God is about to move through me, spiritually I am a mess because Satan has been at me in spiritual warfare. But God upholds you through all, but it doesnt mean you dont feel the pain. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Meggie

    1. John Bunyan wrote that line, but yes it’s true. He expanded on that thought a bit earlier, but he also said pretty much exactly what you just said. God is faithful!

      1. Is the book a good book to persevere with? I downloaded on my kindle and started to read it, but it was a little hard to follow.

        Love ya!
        Meggie

        1. Hi Meggie! It’s hard to say – I found it hard but for some reason didn’t want to give it up – and of course, there was a sense of satisfaction to have finished a hard book! It was good, and I don’t want to discourage you from reading it, but it’s probably not up the top of my ‘must-reads’ books. I just picked it up one day, not sure I’d read the whole thing, and not even realising it was John Bunyan’s work!

          If someone wanted to read a book by John Bunyan, I would probably recommend Pilgrim’s Progress (I haven’t read the real thing – I’ve only read Little Pilgrim’s Progress – but I really want to!)

          I hope this helps!
          xo
          Jess

          PS: how do you like your kindle? I’m still getting used to mine; I’ve only used it for the Bible, not for an actual book yet.

          1. Hi Jess!

            Thanks for that. I will read it if I ever dont have a book that needs to be read. I have read Pilgrims Progress, I love that book.

            Yes, I love my kindle! I think I have gotten used to it, all the books that I love are old books, and they are all free in the store, so I have been reading them. Did you buy a bible? I could only find an ESV version of the bible for free on there. What version do you have?
            I have only finished one complete book on their so far, it was The Scarlet Pimpernell, which I have fallen in love with and bought a real copy of now. 🙂

            Have a good day!
            Meggie xo

            1. Sink me! Sorry I haven’t replied to this before Meggie! I have an ESV study Bible – is that what you have?

              I have only ever watched a movie of the Scarlet Pimpernel, starring Jane Seymour, Anthony Andrews, and Sir Ian McKellen. Mum’s read the book and says it sticks pretty close to the plot for the first half of the movie. That would probably annoy me if I had read the book, but since I haven’t, I just love the movie for what it is!

              Love, Jess

Leave a Reply

