Starry, Starry Night…

The other night there was a lunar eclipse, so we stayed up to watch it happen.  We only stayed until the moon was completely covered, then everyone else went to bed and I (even though I am not a night owl and it was 10:00pm) stayed out a bit longer to play with Dad’s camera since he had it out to take photos of the eclipse’s progress.  Here’s what Dad and I came up with over the night:

when the shadow had nearly completely covered the moon, it turned this orange-red colour
(When the shadow had nearly completely covered the moon, it turned this orange-red colour)

 

“He determines the number of the stars; he gives to all of them their names.” Psalm 147:4 ESV.

 Out there, looking up at the stars, it really amazes me to think God is bigger than all the stars man could ever count and that despite their number, he still named them all.

12 thoughts on “Starry, Starry Night…

  1. Wow! I am impressed. A great effort Jess and Dad! I was out and about in Ubon and saw it from the back seat of a motorbike! By the time I got back to the hotel the kids were already asleep so they missed out. 😦

    1. Pity. Daniel was hanging out for that eclipse since May when he was studying the solar system so he enjoyed it.

      A motorbike – sounds extrotic!

  2. Wow! thats pretty amazing!
    The sky at night is the most beautiful thing! People in the city miss out on so much!!
    Awesome pics!

    Love Emily

  3. Those are amazing pictures!! LOVE them! The moon and the sky with all the stars looks…just WOW. haha
    I had heard after that happened that it happened so these pictures make me really bummed I missed out on it. 😦 Some time I will have to try taking pictures at night!!
    Do you know what your camera settings were for these pictures? 🙂

    -SK

    1. Hi SK!
      Sorry it’s taken so long for me to get back to you. Dad’s camera is a Canon EOS. I can’t remember all the settings sorry, but I’ll try to think of some of them. My ISO speed was on 800 or 1600 when I took the star photos, and I changed what I think is called the shutter speed, so the camera took about 30 seconds to take the photo. We set up a tripod so that we weren’t holding the photo with an unsteady hand. When Dad took the moon photos he also put the camera on a timer so he could click the button, sit back and not bump the camera. I know I fiddled with the picture style, but I’m not sure what I put it on – maybe I kept it on standard, ‘or user def. [1, 2 or 3] standard’. I’m not sure what that does – LOL! I also can’t remember what setting I was on – maybe portrait?

      Sorry I can’t help you very much. I was really just guessing blind – ‘oooh, what does this button do? I wonder what would happen if I did this…’ 🙂 I understand the camera a little bit, but not fully.

      Did you have a good Christmas? How’s your new hat? 😀

      Y’know, for some reason I’ve never really got to know you, which is my fault completely because you are so friendly, and have stopped by from time to time, and you’ve befriended Josh and Nomi. But I’m on my way now to subscribe to your blog…

      Jess

      1. Hello!
        That’s perfectly fine… Its a crazy time of the year! 🙂
        Thanks for trying. 😀 Tripods are pretty handy and all. I’ll have to try to remember what I can and go out some night. Only problem is its FREAZING this time of year. o.O
        It sounds like you have a remote that you can connect to the camera to have it takes pictures without actually touching the camera?

        I had a really great Christmas! Thank you. 🙂 How was yours??
        I LOVE the hat! And I have to say…your mum has serious tallent picking out “my colors” because she got it spot on. ^_^ I was so beyond happy when I opened the gift. 😀
        Did you get anything this year that you were especially excited about? 🙂

        haha Well thank you for subscribing to my blog! I’ve thought exactly the same thing about us not talking as much. Its funny to me because we are the closest in age! 😄 Maybe now that I’ve switched to WordPress we can stay in touch and get to know each other better. *grin*

        In reply to your comment on my blog…
        All you have to do is go to “Appearance” then “Widgets”. In Widgets there is a little tab that you can drag onto your sidebar. The tab says Goodreads so I don’t think it will be too hard to find. After you drag it onto your sidebar thingy you have to get this code thingy from your Goodreads account.
        Here is a link that might have better instructions- http://en.support.wordpress.com/widgets/goodreads-widget/

        Good to hear from you! 🙂
        -Kiwi

        1. Hi Kiwi – Dad’s camera actually has a setting that says countdown timer or something like that – he clicks the button then the camera beeps for around ten seconds before actually taking the photo. It’s the same idea as a remote though.

          I haven’t been onto my widgets section recently – thankyou for the instructions – I’m going to go have a look at that sometime soon! Ages ago when I tried, it wouldn’t let me add it to a text box, I think because wordpress.com doesn’t support java script.

          I’ll let my Mum know you like her colour combinations! Oh yeah – must tell you – a friend gave me The Story CD for Christmas, which I was so excited about! 😀 Overture’s ‘I Am’ on Creation is just amazing and gives me goosebumps. I’m still getting to know all the songs (it’s only two days after Christmas, after all!) but I also love ‘Move in Me’ by Jeremy Camp, on Paul. What are your favourite songs?

          Jess

          1. Hello!

            Got it. That’s a good idea! Especially since its easy to make the pictures blurry. ^_^

            Well it should work now. I hope it does! Can’t wait to see what pictures you read. 😉

            YAY!! So glad you like the CD. It really is a “goose-bumps” CD…the songs are so amazing! I haven’t actually listened to the I Am song much because we bought the CD offline and then couldn’t fit all them onto one of our blank CDs. 😛 That one didn’t make it onto the one I normally listen to. 😦
            Move In Me is definitely one of my favorites as well!
            My favorites are It Must Be You (Moses), Brings Us Home (Joshua), I’m With You (Ruth and Naomi), Born For This (Esther), Be Born In Me (Mary), and Alive (Mary Magdalene). I know, that’s a lot of favorites… but I love them all so much! hehe

            -Kiwi

Leave a Reply

