No breathing, no running

Have you ever tried to run without breathing?  I’d never tried it, so I gave it a go today.  It’s hard!  It’s unsustainable for even a short time.

 I read somewhere today that running without breathing is like trying to live the Christian life without Christ’s help.   Jesus said that we can do nothing without Him.  I’ve realised lately that without God, my life would look completely different.    I’d always known that, but it’s been going to a deeper level.  I became a Christian when I was three years old, and that’s awesome, but it means that I don’t know my ‘before and after’ story. However, I believe that without God in my life, I would be a selfish, proud, rebellious, angry, impatient, self-pitying teenager! Those are the things I’ve had to fight against, and without Jesus’ salvation from darkness and Him breaking the chains of sin on my life, that’s where I would be today.  I know that without the Holy Spirit I couldn’t be who I am now.  If you know me you might find it hard to believe, because people think I’m a sweet, good-natured girl, but honestly, it’s all by the grace of God!

But Jesus looked at them and said, “With man [salvation] is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” Matthew 19:26, ESV

I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. Galatians 2:20, ESV

We need Christ.  Praise God for His indescribable gift which now ‘breathes’ in us!

11 thoughts on “No breathing, no running

  1. Yes, Praise the Lord for His incredible gift!! Thankyou Jess, it was good to be reminded of
    this!
    Very encouraging….
    Love Emily Grace

  2. That is a very good concept.
    The other day I read Ezek 36:25, “From all your filthiness, and from all your idols, will I cleanse you”.
    Where would we be if Jesus didn’t find us?!

  3. Hey Jess – I spent some time looking through your blog today. I know I’ve read each post before but seeing your whole blog at once gives a different impression. You are doing well here on blogworld. Your blog is reflecting different bits of your life – it is a delight to read. Keep it up!

    Mum

  4. This is so great, Jessica! Your testimony is a HUGE testimony of God’s grace – It’s incredible that anyone can grow up without giving into the world’s lure! Thank you for these breath-giving words 🙂

Leave a Reply

