Shopping for Time book review

Cover of
Cover via Amazon

A few weeks back I was sucked into reading in a book written by Carolyn Mahaney and her three daughters, Nicole, Kristin and Janelle, called Shopping for Time. Shopping for Time isn’t a very big book but instead of giving us a ‘to-do list’ of all the things necessary to save time, they base their book on the book, God’s word, primarily Ephesians 5:15-16, which exhorts us to:

“Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil.” (ESV)

Why should we work on time management? Because the days are evil. When we act wisely with our time we are shining as a city on a hill for God’s glory.  We are redeemed and now every aspect of our lives is to reflect God!

In Shopping for Time the foursome, writing with clarity and humour, share five ways we can buy up the best bargains in life by focusing on that which is truly important.  When we have these aspects in order our whole life can run in the direction it needs to.  With the important in order, so can the everyday.

Although the authors are all wives and mothers I greatly appreciated how they applied their principles into my life as a teen still in school.  While I often apply what others older than I write into my life it was nice to hear what they had to say about this season in my life as well as gain ideas for further down the track.

This book is a little different from other time management books in that it’s not the self-help book I imagined.  On the other hand however I was re-encouraged to wake up early and inspired in my quiet time with God each morning; I was reminded to plan my day and they suggested holding a personal getaway and evaluating where I’m up to in my different areas of life.  Finally we are to depend on God to help us through our day, because without him we cannot do anything.

I really recommend this book, because they share how when we, as Christians, have the vital things in order it also helps us carry out our everyday moment-by-moment lives.  Hope you love it too!

Buy the book // Read their blog, girltalk

4 thoughts on “Shopping for Time book review

  1. You’ve convinced me…. you better put this book on my reading pile when we get home! I often think about how I value time – or may be I don’t value time – not in the eternal sense like you are saying – if I truly valued it then I would use it better. A good and timely challenge.

    1. It’s like that haunting sentance on ‘The Truth Project’:

      ‘do you really believe that what you believe is really real?’ Do I really believe my time is important?

    1. Thanks for the link Meggie!

      Is it cheaper to buy it from the UK than from USA? (Obviously it isn’t necessarily cheaper for Americans, but being Australians I’m curious!)

Leave a Reply

