Why I love books

A book is the only place in which you can examine a fragile thought without breaking it, or explore an explosive idea without fear it will go off in your face.  It is one of the few havens remaining where a man’s mind can get both provocation and privacy. – Edward Morgan

When I was three, the world of books was opened up to me when I started to learn to read.  By the time I was seven, I read my first novel, and since then I’ve loved to read.  Today I am presenting to you three reasons why I enjoy reading.

 

Initially, I love to read books because it takes your imagination anywhere in the world.  I remember reading years ago ‘The Secret Garden’ by Francis Hodgson Burnett and vividly hearing the screams of Cousin Colin as he threw one of his many temper tantrums, or envisaging the dark cave The Famous Five were trapped in during one of their many adventures.  With a book I get to learn about people, even if they aren’t real, who have emotions and opinions and live a life basically simular to mine.  Being a person-lover, I enjoy reading stories about people, such as Anne of Green Gables, because it’s like getting to know another person.  Of course, Anne Shirley or Cousin Colin do not replace real people in the least, but as it is with any good story, which everybody enjoys, there are lessons to be learnt and memories to be made.  Reading books sends your imagination flying in any direction.

 

When reading books I have the choice to learn about anything and anyone – from history to science to people to foreign lands and cultures.  Not only do I have the freedom to read a variety of books, but also to pick up facts as I go along.  For example, while reading the book ‘Gulliver’s Travels’ by Jonathan Swift, a book written in the 1800’s where people used unusual words, there is an opportunity to expand my vocabulary, or when reading a biography to both learn about a person and grasp an understanding of what was happening in history, both at the same time.  Absolutely anything can be learnt through books, although sometimes we need to look extra hard with learning eyes, peeling off the pages any scrap of information we deem useful or know is important.  Reading books also presents us with new ideas which stimulate our minds towards a better understanding of the world and a clearer idea of what we believe – our worldview. With the aid of a book, the world really is my oyster!

 

 

Finally, I love to read books because they change me.  Reading changes who I am – it is one of the ways God molds me to all that he wants me to become.  When I read a book, especially if it’s by a Christian author, and when I have the heart to learn and change, I discover Biblical truths which enforces and digs into what I believe and how I will live my everyday life as a Christian.  As I mentioned: my worldview.

 

Books teach us about the world and our beliefs, and our heritage.  With a good book we hear a good story and with books we are changed.  Books are your friends, not enemies.  Although there are dry, boring books out there, and there are some books filled with filth, there are also many fascinating, engaging books from which there is so much to learn.  In the words of Helen Exley, “Books can be dangerous.  The best ones should be labeled “This could change your life.””

 

This was a speech I wrote in November for our homeschool co-op.  What is one book that has changed your life?  Read my books page to find out mine.

One thought on “Why I love books

  1. Yes, books are amazing! Also amazing is that there is no end of them (Eccl 12:12). Whenever I think of the mechanics of reading though, that’s when I really get fascinated. What are those words on the page? Why, just ink printed in patterns that we know as letters. Those patterns in the right order to form words and sentences, whole ideas. And our brains can take the picture of those marks on the page and translate them into abstract thoughts and ideas that can make us laugh, cry, spring into action, and even change our lives!

    I love how reading can transport me to a whole new atmosphere. Do you see a movie of what is happening as you read? That is cool too.

    Come check out my new blog when you get a minute! 🙂
    Alie

Leave a Reply

