The Time, the Hare and the Tortoise

 

Sunday I re-watched the above video of Josh Harris’, ‘Self-Control in a Wired World’.  I initially watched it a year ago – and I know I’ve already blogged it – but re-watching reaffirms it in my brain.  This week I’ve been seeking to put what he is saying into practice, by not stopping by the computer to check emails – when it’s not even my Outlook so there’s no way there would be anything for me anyway!  By not doing that alone I’ve felt a lot more on track. 

Actually, it reminded me of Aesop’s tale of The Hare and the Tortoise. During the day, particularly on school days, it’s easy to think that, “I am on schedule, I’m doing well – so I’ll just… check emails!  Take it easy, Jess – just relax a minute!” When I have that mindset and indulge myself that way, I fall behind in my schedule.  This is very similar to the Hares’ mindset – and he lost the race. 

On the other hand, if I don’t give into that temptation, then it is outstanding how much I actually get done!  I have a fantastic day, just by following ‘The Tortoise Method.’ 

Last week I read an article which gave the challenge to keep a record for how long I spend on the computer.  I decided to give it a go.  To be honest, I haven’t done very well with it, but after the first day I was blown away by just how much time I spent in front of the computer.  Admittedly it wasn’t all bad things – I typed; I created something on Photoshop Elements; I checked my emails – but the pure amount of time spent in my average week, is definitely opening up my eyes to how much time one can waste on the computer. 

“An inch of time is an inch of gold but you can’t buy that inch of time with an inch of gold.”  

– Chinese Proverb

3 thoughts on “The Time, the Hare and the Tortoise

  1. I have been thinking again about this through the weekend, and I think I waste time watching tv and reading to many ficition books (or to much of them at a time! 😀 )
    Thanks again, Jess.

    ~ Meggie

    1. Hmmm… good points Meggie. I hadn’t thought of fiction as a time waster, but imbalance probably isn’t healthy for us if we want to be using our time to grow.

      Remember how I wrote that I was keeping a log of how long I spent on the computer for a week? Well, the week’s over and done with; I entered the log for maybe – three days :), but I’m convinced. I could easily guess I spend one hour at least on the computer a day.

      Na-uh. Definitely not want I want to be doing.

      It’s easy to be inspired by another person’s life, or the fruit of their choices (like Ben Carson, for example) but to do a reality check in my life in a practical way like a time log really puts a new face on ‘how I spend my time’ and what I really want to be doing with it.

      Woah – this comment just grew into a mini letter!
      God bless!
      Jessica

Leave a Reply

