Forget the Lists!

Over the last couple of weeks, I’ve been thinking a lot about lists.  You know me – I love ‘em.  (Read: How my Weirdest Hobby Can Help You and From Mess to Less)  It’s true that they really help me think through what I need to do for the day, get things done, and plan for the next week.  However, I recently read an article which adjusted my mindset towards a lists’ play in my life.

“[A]midst the striving and the rush and this emphasis on the future, we lose sight of the beauty of an ordinary afternoon, we overlook the evidences of grace in another person’s life, and we take no delight in the actual act of our work. And so my challenge to myself is to yes, continue working towards my goals, but at the same time, be intentional about living in the present and taking delight in the abundance of God’s daily grace.” – Bloom! [read the rest]

 The Bible says that ‘where there is no vision, the people perish: but he that keepeth the law, happy is he.’ (Proverbs 29:18 KJV)  We need to plan (and listmaking can be a tool for that) but I’m learning that doing and planning isn’t everything.  If I don’t enjoy what I’m doing, if I overlook God’s hand in another persons’ life; if I stop enjoying the humdrum of everyday life… then frankly, I’m missing the point!  God is a purposeful, orderly God, and wants us to be likewise, but he is a creator; he delights in us, and he loves watching the tiny everyday things that fill the earth.  He cares about our hearts so much he would, as Max Lucado wrote, ‘rather give up his only son than give up on you.’

I don’t know about you, but I need to stop always planning and start living in the day God has given me to glorify him – and sometimes, forget the lists.

“This is the day that the LORD has made; we will rejoice and be glad in it!” – Psalm 18:24

Visit Bloom!
6 thoughts on “Forget the Lists!

  1. Hello,

    I found your blog from, One Passion One Devotion.
    Excellent Job. Great post. Thought provoking.

    May God bless you,

    Earl

  2. Thanks for linking to us, Jessica! And yes, it’s perfectly fine to do that.

    As I wrote in the article, this is just as much a challenge to myself as it is to anyone else! Like you, I’m a total list-maker and goal-setter, so I know just what you mean. Amidst to-do lists and grand plans, it’s easy to overlook the little daily graces . . .

    Wonderful verse, too! I hadn’t thought about how that verse connects so well with what I wrote about. Thank you for sharing!

    grace & peace,
    Jessina

  3. This is so spot on Jess. Lists are such a great tool and I’ve been using them (needing them) since I was 10 to keep my focus on the main thing – but sometimes life just doesn’t fit on the list and yet it is obvious that life experience is God’s best for us.

  4. Hi Jess! I’m not sure how I arrived at your blog (although I know your mom’s blog was a part of the internet path that brought me here). At any rate, I love this post. As a task-oriented mom, I’m constantly failing to be in-the-moment with my children, so I appreciate this reminder to do just that!

    I hope that my daughters are as passionate about seeking the Lord when they’re 15 as you seem to be. Blessings to you from Louisville, Kentucky, USA!

Leave a Reply

