Overlook an Offence

A man’s wisdom gives him patience; it is to his glory to overlook an offence.

Proverbs 19:11 NIV

The discretion of a man makes him slow to anger, and his glory is to overlook a transgression.

Proverbs 19:11 NKJV

In the last couple of months, I’ve learnt a lot from this verse, especially the last part. At the moment it’s my memory verse, and I need to hear it often! As things pop up in my day – the unfair circumstances, the words that hurt me, and the actions that upset me – I continually repeat to myself to ‘overlook the offence… be slow to anger…. forgive the transgression’.  As I reflect on these words I remember whom I’m supposed to be focused on. And the answer, I’ve found, isn’t me.

What are you working on at the moment?

One thought on “Overlook an Offence

  1. Hi Jess,
    Thats really interesting, this past week I have been having some clashes with people, and I found I blamed then quite a lot, I told myself I should not blame them and forgive, but hearing it our of your mouth it takes the un-blur out of the blurry edge of it.

    At the moment I am working on igniting my love for Christ and finding out what He wants me to do for Him. Have any tips for me?

    Blessings,
    Meggie

Leave a Reply

