{a mainly munchie} Banana Cake

Since Meggie and Kira so nicely hinted at sharing some recipes from the mainly munchies recipe book, 🙂 I thought I’d share a family favourite of ours that’s included in the book.  This banana cake is lovely fresh, warm and fully cooked, or cold, moist and just ever-so-slightly uncooked – or any combination of the above!

4oz butter or substitute
¾ cup sugar
1 ½ cups self-raising flour
Pinch salt
3 medium-sized bananas
¼ cup milk
½ teaspoon bi-carb soda

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Peel and mash bananas (enough for 1 cup full)

Add mashed banana to creamed mixture, beat until just combined.  Fold in sifted flour and salt alternatively with combined milk and bi-carb soda.

Pour into greased 7” sandwich tins, or a square lamination tin.  Bake in a moderate oven or until cooked when tested.

When cold, join with whipped cream.  Ice if desired – I’ve used lemon icing, with a sprinkle of cinnamon on top

Bon apatite everyone!

3 thoughts on “{a mainly munchie} Banana Cake

  1. Oh, thanks so much Jessica! I will definatly try out this one, I will let you know how it turns out!

    ‘The Worship-Driven Life’ by A.W. Tozer was absolutly amazing. Mum was reading it, and it sparked my attention so I picked it up to, it kept me gripped, I dont think I will ever be able to worship like A. W. Tozer, but I shall certainly try! Above all in the book he encouraged simple people like me to deeply worship, in normal places, he also kept stressing that God is everywhere, you dont have to worship him in just church… you can do it everywhere! It helped me a lot in a place I never really thought I needed help in! I hope you get to read it!
    Blessings,
    Meggie

Leave a Reply

