The Joys of Joy

Although the world might describe joy as ‘extreme happiness’, as a Christian, joy is a happiness based on truth—the Truth, the truth that sets us free, the truth that can never spoil or fade, but tells of a great inheritance kept in heaven for us, through Jesus Christ our Messiahs’ death on the cross  and his resurrection, offering us everlasting life and forgiveness of sins. (1 Peter 13-5)

Joy doesn’t mean I’ll always be bouncing off the walls, exuberantly excited 24/7.  Instead, it means I can be peaceful about the situation at hand, because I serve and love a God who knows the future, my future; who is with me always, canceled my debt, preparing a home for me in heaven—a God who has written my name in the book of life and on the palm of his hands.  This same God will guide me, like a shepherd, no matter what happens to me.

So how can I be joyful in tricky situations?

When I don’t want to get out of bed in the morning, I can remember who made this day and what that means for me.

When someone mistreats me, I can put them above myself

When I am extremely tired before the day is through, I can pray and remind myself that Christ did the ultimate hard thing, and I can consequently do all things through him!

And when I have a cold (like today) I can be joyful because I know the ultimate healer and author of Romans 8:28, who is preparing a home for me without any sickness ever again!

One thought on “The Joys of Joy

  1. Lovely post. I am sick at the moment aswell, I think this is just what I needed. 🙂 Thankyou so much for the encouragment!
    Blessings,
    Meggie

Leave a Reply

