I’m Thinking…I’m Thinking…

Whilst reading blogs this evening, I came across this very challenging quote by Paul Tripp:

“When we speak, it must be with the realization that God has given our words significance. He has ordained for them to be important…God has given words value. So we must do all we can to assign words the importance Scripture gives them.”

Recently, before I even read this, I’ve been thinking a lot about how today, lots of people (myself definitely included) use the words ‘thing’ and ‘like’ a lot.  I’ve known that for a long time, but the real thing I’ve been thinking about is whether it is, like, actually a good thing!  If I’m to give God my best in everything, if I’m to be the Lords’ and my families’ ambassador, if I’m to set an example (1 Timothy 4:12), then my speech needs to reflect that.  And not just in the speeches I give to 100 people, but when I’m asking a question, encouraging a sibling to do the right thing, and discussing a topic.

So the next time I can’t think of the word I need, I’m not going to use the word ‘thing’ or add a dozen ‘likes’ to the sentence, but stop and think about what that word is, because that is pursuing excellence.

One thought on “I’m Thinking…I’m Thinking…

Leave a Reply

