Not Just Humdrum

First of all, I’d like to apologize to my faithful readers for letting my blog lax the past few days… errr, weeks.  Although I’ve been busy, it’s more of an issue of losing my blogs’ focus and needing to find it again.  There it was, all polished andImageChef.com - Custom comment codes for MySpace, Hi5, Friendster and more shining at me – it just took a bit of time, space and effort on my behalf.  I’m looking forward to getting my Jesus-owned blog back on track, blogging with God-posts, my life and homemaking ideas in mind.

That being written, this week, I’ve been thinking about this piece of advice from Jim Elliot:

“Wherever you are, be there 100%”

Although I love all that I do, – be that school, blogging, socializing, mainly music, Church or something else –  I have this stirring, an urge to do something bigger and harder than what I already do (which, to my eyes, is pretty small and insignificant).  My daydreams tell me nobility and fame calls my name.  Thankfully I have my Mum and Dad behind me, reminding me that I don’t have to do it all now, and that I have the rest of my life to teach Sunday school, participate in sports, or write a book.  =) With Jeremiah 29:11 to back them up, they encourage me to remember that God is using me, he will use me, and that life isn’t all about the spotlight.


I agree, and I am grateful for their instruction, but now that I have those noble  aspirations out of the way, I start to wonder… what now?  What do I do while I wait?   While I’m trying to always keep my eyes open to opportunities and growth – spiritually, mentally, socially, emotionally and physically – the best thing I think I can do is to be there 100%.  To, no matter where I am and no matter what I’m doing, to enthusiastically throw my heart and body into whatever work God has planted in front of me for this day.  These preparation days are exciting God-sends which train me for God’s enormous plan, whatever, whenever, wherever that may be.

Give it 100% today.  God’ll take care of the rest.

3 thoughts on “Not Just Humdrum

  1. YES! I really need to put that into practice right now. I’m starting to feel impatient about the fact that I still have to wait 5, 10, maybe 15 years before getting married and starting a family, which is what I really want to do! But yes, I need to remember to just take life one day a time, and throw myself whole-heartedly into my life right now. Learn how to keep house. 🙂 Learn how to be a good wife by being a good daughter and sister. Learn how to be a frugal shopper. Etc.

    Thanks for the timely reminder, Jess!

    1. Hear hear Alison! Thanks for telling me that what you want to do, is what I want to do! But while we wait, there is so much more we can do as well outside of strictly housekeeping, like the things that make us excited, whether that be politics, medicine, fashion design, movie making or whatever. I’m not saying we need to go to Uni [College] for that, and whatever we do is to prepare us to be a good wife and mother, but it doesn’t have to be limited to housekeeping duties. Can you see where I’m coming from?

      Also, while I’m on the subject – have you read the book ‘So Much More’ by Anna Sofia and Elizabeth Botkin? I’m reading it at the moment and it’s all about the ‘before marriage stage’. It’s very good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

