The Fear of the Telephone

Unbeknown to many, I have a dreadful fear of several, awful things.  Those awful things include snakes, ever-sinking deep water (especially with enormous whales in them), and being kidnapped (which is another story).  The scariest of all however, is…

Telephones.  Well, not so much the telephone, or answering it, but taking the initiative to use the beast is probably my greatest fear of all time. You can do it! If the task is unavoidable, my pounding heart plunges to the stomach.  The mind races for excuses.  Hands grow clammy, and all the way down to my toes cringe as I dial the number.  In fact, I only have about five people on my ‘fine to call’ list, not including my Mum and Dad.

Slowly though, I am overcoming that fear.  My list is starting to expand, and my heart doesn’t pound as loudly when I have to call somebody.  I figure that they can’t bite me, and the phone is there to help you, not condemn you.  Best of all, God will never leave me to make that call myself!  Although phoning Coles might be another matter, telephoning my friends is becoming less and less scary.

Using the telephone is my ‘hard thing’. In other words, it’s the activity that requires me stepping well out of my comfort zone to accomplish.  It seems freaky, and it might be as I take that first step of dialling the number, but after I do it, I have no regrets looking back.  How ’bout you?

PS: next stop: deep water and snakes.

9 thoughts on “The Fear of the Telephone

  1. I’m actually the same way. I hate calling people I don’t really know over the phone, and sometimes even calling people I do know bothers me, I would much rather e-mail. 😀 I am getting better though!

    Great job overcoming the fear of the phone!
    Out of the Blue:jane

  2. Well, it’s really nice to know that I’m not the only one :). I’ll talk in person or via email any day but…the phone?!?! It comes so naturally to some people and some even love it. But for us and any other telephobic (is that a word :)?) people, as you said, it’s one of our “hard things”.

    I liked your devotional: Sing, Not Thump. I have to admit my response to all the problems that pop up isn’t always singing/joy…it’s often more like crying/sad…or being frustrated and mad.

    Also, I read your About Me and saw that you enjoy Keith Green’s music like I do :). I’m still a beginner in the area of piano playing.

    I like your blog and would love to be friends!

    Your sister in Christ,
    Alyssa (fellow GGM writer :))

  3. Yes, I am fine except when dad tried to make me call a newsagent, I went the same as you described… Lets just say I didnt do it.
    That Rebelution button that you got, do you get it when you join the forums or can you give me the code? Thanks Jess!
    I’d love to hear about your ‘other’ fears! 😀
    Blessings,
    Meggie4u

    http://www.inkdrips.wordpress.com

  4. Hi Jess!
    (this is Abby W. from the Rebelution forum, by the way)
    This is one of my greatest fears too! I have been in tears, literally, over calling Dairy Queen! Ouch. Thanks for encouraging me in this way. This is something I really need to work on.
    Great going, friend! I’ll be praying for you!

    “For God has not given us a spirit of fear…”

  5. I find that quite interesting Jess considering how much your Mum loves the phone (same as me actually)

    Well If you ever need any more practice, I am just a phone call away!!

  6. Am I really THAT scary?!?!?!?
    I was scared of the phone until I got a job and I HAD to talk on the phone fairly regularly to people at work. Just remember – not only is the phone unable to bite you, but the person you’re talking to can’t either!
    I’m scared of going upside down on a roller coaster. Do you think I should go to movieworld?

    Great post Jess!

    Ecc 4:9-10

    1. Hayley, you aren’t scary! You are on my ‘OK to call’ list!

      If going upside down on a roller coaster is scary for you, then… well, to be honest, I can’t give any good advice either. You know how I am with heights!! 😀 But, it could be your hard thing…

  7. It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one with this same fear!! Though I’m getting better at it, there were times in the past where I’m sure my family thought I was going crazy! My mom would be constantly telling me, “Kira, it’s JUST a phone call.”

    I have realized, though, a lot of it has to do with “the fear of man.” It really does. I have to ask myself prior to the call: what am I really afraid of?? Sounding stupid? Goofing up? Saying the wrong thing? Yep, yep and yep.

    I had to (and still do!) have to remind myself, that I am not perfect, everyone makes mistakes, and others shouldn’t have that much power over me, that I can’t even make a single phone call for fear of what they will think!

    …and it doesn’t help at all being a perfectionist… 😦

Leave a Reply

