Create in me a Clean Heart, Oh God

At Church this morning, after a fantastic sermon by Dad on the grace and propitiation of God, we sang Keith Green’s song, Create in Me a Clean Heart, which is literally Psalm 51:10-12.  Click on the link above to hear a 30 second sample.

Create in me a clean heart, oh God

(Sing it to Jesus)

And renew a right spirit within me.

(Close your eyes and worship Him.)

Create in me a clean heart, oh God,

And renew a right spirit within me.

Create in me a clean heart, oh God,

And renew a right spirit within me.

Cast me not away from thy presence oh Lord,

And take not Thy Holy Spirit from me.

Restore unto me, the joy of Thy Salvation,

And renew a right spirit within me.

As we were preparing for this morning and were choosing the songs, I was reading The Rebelution’s latest update: 35 reasons not to sin. Combining the two added so much more meaning to both of them.  I was inspired to keep my eyes on the LORD and just try to be holy.  I’d really like to encourage you to give it a go, and let the Holy Spirit speak to you!

What reason not to sin jumped out at you?  For me, it was number 29: Because, though forgiven, I will review this very sin at the Judgment Seat where loss and gain of eternal rewards are applied. What a reason not to sin!

Wow LORD – thankyou for your grace and love and mercy to us sinners.  Thankyou for forgiving me and never giving up on me.  Please father, help me to live out a holy and pleasing life to you day by day.  Thankyou for taking away my sin and coming to live with me!

5 thoughts on “Create in me a Clean Heart, Oh God

  1. I used to feel the presence of God in my heart. I used to see him in my dreams. the glory that was God now seems to me a faint memory that every day I try to bring back but I have lost faith.

  2. I love that song! We sing it in our church sometimes to! I really like it. I think that the way to get back to sensing Gods prescence would be to worship God with all your soul, heart and mind without thinking of whateveryone thinks of you and it shouldnt just be done in church. It should also be performed day to day. Find a quiet spot, t=with your bible and just praise God where no one can see.

    Your Dad is a preacher?????? Thats awesome!

    – Meggie4u

    1. Thanks Meggie! You nailed it on the head!!

      And no, Dad’s not a preacher, but he does preach from time to time at our church and other churches in town when asked asked to. He always does a great job!

      1. awesome as! Thats awesome that your Dad can do that! My Dad…..*chuckle* he wouldnt be caught on the stage! 😀

Leave a Reply

