Procastination and Living for God

 

I’m tired of procrastinating.  Just in the last hour, I was thinking, “One of these days, I’ll…” when I realized how sick I was of saying that.  I don’t normally think of myself as a procrastinator, but suddenly several things that I’ve been putting off came to mind, and I decided I had had enough of it.

 

On of my favourite of favourite sayings of the Rebelution is ‘thriving, not surviving’.  God doesn’t want anybody to ‘just be’ in life – he wants us to be spent, all used up, when we die.  Teens especially can’t let the idea that they can hang around be an excuse for being used by God.  We have to strive for excellence in everything we do.

 

Imagine yourself as a pencil.  We, as a pencil, have two choices: we can just draw occasionally and lightly, and not really be a part of an awesome picture; or we can allow the Artist to use us, scribbling furiously until we are used up.  When we are fully used up, we can stand back and gape at the amazing picture that we were actually a part of.

 

I want to be the second pencil being used by God.  I have to be ready to take risks, step outside of my comfort zone, and be sincerely willing to give up my deepest desires and passions for Jesus.

 

 “I repent of ever having recorded one single song and ever having performed one concert if my music, and more importantly — my life — has not provoked you into Godly jealousy, or to sell out more completely to Jesus!” –Keith Green

 

In summary, I need to get in there and do those things, both big and small, regular and new, faithfully and striving to be in excellence.  I need to let God use me, like the pencil, giving him my ideas and hopes for his ideas and expectations on me.

 

 

So help me God!  And God, you’re not the little God that I envisage, but the great big faithful God beyond imagination!   

Leave a Reply

