Top Ten Tips for Organizing

  1. Have a place for everything.  If everything has a place, then things will be where you want it when you want it.
  2. Store like items together.  Keep as much of one ‘sort’ of item together.  Try keeping all different coloured papers together, drawing or painting supplies in the same box, and school books in one place.  We have a drawer for all our coloured paper, and shelves for hot, cool and neutral coloured card.
  3. Put things back where they belong.  That means 24/7, day in, day out, whenever and where ever, you deal with whatever you were doing and put it back! You’d be surprised how much space you’ll obtain!
  4. Don’t get bogged down with the details.  When you organize, be thorough, but don’t become obsessed with all that little ‘stuff’.
  5. If you don’t like it, don’t keep it.  Simple.
  6. If you do like it, keep it!  Duh.
  7. Stay focused. If you are putting away that enormous pile of stuff in your room, don’t decide to sort your clothes in colour-code now.  You can do that after your room is in order!
  8. Don’t bite of more than you can chew.  If organizing your cupboard, under the bed, and all the boxes in one day is too much for you, then don’t do it!  Decide that for every day for the week, you will sort out one area.
  9. Use containers to help out.  I find using a washing basket is a great help when doing a big clean, either in my room, cleaning craft supplies, or blitzing the living area and family room.  When cleaning a cupboard, I like to use boxes or plastic baskets to store it all, instead of it being loose.  I love the idea of plastic containers after plastic containers, stacked up upon one another, but reality is you can use any sort of box; be creative!

And last but not least…

  1. Be yourself!  Don’t organize from the outside in, find a system from the inside out!  If you a really short, don’t store your Bible on the tipity-top of your bedroom cupboard!  When I was about seven, I had a little whistle I loved.  One day I sat in the middle of my bedroom floor, closed my eyes, and, outstreaching my arm, threw it in the bin, telling myself, “I don’t really need it, I don’t really need it!” I was trying to get rid of stuff so I’d be organized (an unnecessary job, if I may say so myself), but I was trying to force THE way of organizing into myself, and as a result, lost a cool toy.  There is more than one way to organize, and getting rid of stuff doesn’t necessarily counts as one of them.
Leave a Reply

