Christmas?

If you’re house is anything like ours, you’re probably starting to get serious about Christmas. Such as listening to the same Christmas CD every single day or put up your Christmas decorations. The Christmas music has been going loud at our house! Not only have we been listening to Colin Buchanan’s el-wacko and yet totally true Christmas CD King of Christmas, we have found another amazing CD, Snow, by Go Fish. Our favourite song in the CD is It’s Called Christmas With a Capital ‘C’. Upbeat and fast, it talks about Christmas being Christmas, and not anything else.

It’s called Christmas

What more can I say?

It’s about the birth of Christ and you can’t take that away [bold mine]

You can call it something else

But that’s not what it will be

It’s called Christmas with a capital ‘C’!

I know lots of people don’t celebrate Christmas because there’s pagan roots attached to it. But I don’t know anything about pagan roots and Christmas, to be honest. But God is after our heart, and if we want to celebrate Jesus’ birthday with that being the focus of Christmas, even if God never commands us to do it… why not? You don’t have to ‘do’ Santa and candy canes and Christmas trees to celebrate Jesus’ birthday. As Christians, we celebrate Christmas because Jesus was born, and that is a fact. Jesus became human. But that’s not all. Christmas isn’t all about Jesus’ birthday and snow and family and presents. It’s About the Cross.

Chorus 2:

It’s about the cross

It’s about my sin

It’s about how Jesus came to be born once so that we could be born again

It’s about God’s love led to a tree

It’s about how every drop of blood that flowed from him when it should’ve been me

It’s about the stone that was rolled away

So that you and I could have real life some day…

It’s about the cross

As a Christian, that’s why Christmas is so important.  Jesus was born and died for me. Over the last couple of years, I’ve had to do a bit of a heart check. Am I excited about the true meaning of Christmas, or is it just all the presents? This year, presents don’t seem to be as big a deal as they have been other years (though I am curious!). He is my reason to live. Jesus is my best friend, and I’m holding a birthday party this year for him… in my heart.

Want to come?

Leave a Reply

