You’ve Been Working on Heaven…

In a few weeks time I will be giving a speech about reaching heaven. Yesterday I was searching for quotes about heaven for my speech. Unfortunately, predominantly all of the quotes I found talked about how boring heaven is going to be. Isaac Asimov stated: I don’t believe in an afterlife, so I don’t have to spend my whole life fearing hell, or fearing heaven even more. For whatever the tortures of hell, I think the boredom of heaven would be even worse.

As for me, I can’t wait for heaven! If I can’t have a birthday party, I can worship my awesome God with King David and Keith Green leading together up front! Just imagine that! Keith Green remarked at one of his concerts before singing ‘I Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven’: I look around the world and see all the beauty that God made, all the forests and the trees… and it says in the Bible that God made them in six days; I don’t know if that’s literal six days or not; scientists would say no, some theologians might say yes, it doesn’t matter to me. What I know is that Jesus Christ has been preparing a home for me, and for some of you, for two thousand years. And if this world took six days, and our home took two thousand years, man, this is living in a garbage can compared to what’s going on up there!”

Seaside sunset, silver linings round the clouds,

Birds fly, singing, making such a joyful sound.

Thoughts of heaven somehow seem to fill my mind,

But I can’t even imagine, what it is I’m gonna find.

I can’t wait to get to Heaven, when you’ll wipe away all my fears.

In six days you created everything,

but you’ve been working on Heaven two thousand years.

Deep green forests, mountains reaching for the sky,

Grasslands and deserts, your creation fills my eye.

Thank you, thank you Jesus, though this beauty is just a taste,

Of all your glory I’ll see when I pass through those gates.

Chorus x2*

Boredom + heaven = the wrong state of mind! If you imagine heaven as how Walt DisneyTM portrays it; with floating, white, ghost-like angels, pale skies, and hymns forever going on in endless choir-like tones, then forget that! In one of Adrian Plass’s book, The Sacred Adrian Plass, Christian Speaker, aged 37 ¾, Adrian courageously confesses to a guest speaker at church:

‘”I don’t want to die.”

“No,” said Father John, “neither do I. Life can be very good. I’m sure Jesus didn’t want to die either. His friends and family, the natural world, laughter, tears, work – he loved it all, I’m sure.”

“But heaven – the idea of heaven seems so… I don’t know…”

“What is your name?” asked the monk.

“Adrian…”

“Adrian, what are you interested in – really interested in, I mean?”

“Cricket.” Didn’t mean to tell the truth. It just slipped out.

“So,” said Father John, “for you, Adrian, God has to make sure that heaven is at least as exciting and stimulating and satisfying as scoring a century against Australia at Lords.”‘*

Jesus isn’t preparing the ‘how-great-thou-art’ heaven that every ‘perfect Christian’ ‘dreams’ of – he’s preparing a bright, cheery, action-packed homey home (hey, if it is going to be as exciting, stimulating and satisfying as English beating the Australians at the Ashes, then it’s gotta be good!)

Heaven is going to be better than the best day of your life – it lasts forever!

**From the book, The Sacred Diary of Adrian Plass (aged 37 ¾)

*Song published by Keith Green. I found the lyrics at this site, and you can go to his ministries’ site at www.lastdayministries.org

Leave a Reply

