Book Reccomendation part one

OK, Lady Rachel has asked me what some of my favourite books are, and I replied that I would post them – besides, I needed a reason to post about something!

Favourite Authors:

L.M Montgomery – she writes simply beautiful, poetical, magical stories; although some are love stories (I can tell by the cover; all of her love stories have a beautiful girl with a sad face with a man in the background!) but some – like Anne of Green Gables, are about orphans or unloved children. They are really feminine novels. The ones I’ve read – that I love – are:

The Anne of Green Gables series

Akin to Anne

Jane of Lantern Hill

The Story Girl


Frank Peretti – His books for adults are very, very deep, although people do enjoy them. Most people know him as the most serious Christian ever, that is, until you listen to Mr Henry’s Wild and Wacky, Totally True Bible Stories – hilarious Bible stories – that’s how we learnt about him. Recently, a friend gave me a series of books written by him, The Cooper Kids’ Adventure Series – which are so gripping; it even kept my Grandfather awake! Realistically, it’s far-fetched (if you’re a critic, I wouldn’t recommend reading them – you’ll be saying the whole way through – ‘oh yeah right –like that’s ever gonna happen!’), but they are so enthralling – the Coopers’ are strong Christians – plus they’re biblical archeologists. They’re something different – the first one deal’s with demons, so it’s a bit spiritual, but that’s the deepest it gets. I could just read them over and over again!

The Cooper Kids’ Adventure Series – eight books in total

Mary Grant Bruce – if you don’t live in Australia, then you mightn’t find this author around – her books would probably all be out of print anyway, but they are really good, Aussie stories! I’m currently reading through the Billabong series; they’re slow, but they’re interesting, outback novels. Golden Fiddles is my Grandma’s favourite; I can easily agree with her that it’s good – it’s about a poor family who inherit a lot of money, and go to live in Melbourne.

Golden Fiddles

Billabong Series – sixteen books in total

Martha Finley – I’ve thoroughly enjoyed A Life of Faith books – the Millie and Elsie ones, really. The ones I’ve read though aren’t the Martha Finley ones, but the revised ones. I love the 1800’s; Elsie is so gentle and an easy character to like; but for me, Millie Keith is really practical in her walk with God and her lifestyle – unlike Elsie, I don’t have servants at my beck and call!

A Life of Faith: Elsie Dinsmore

A Life of Faith: Millie Keith


Max Lucado – He is a fantastic author – I love what he writes! I’ve read four of his books; two written for pre/teens:

He Chose You

Just Like Jesus

And two written for adults –

Next Door Savior

Every Day Deserves a Chance

He’s very clever with words, and looks at things from a perspective that we wouldn’t see; he also thinks of things we wouldn’t have thought of! His picture books are very nice too!

Lee Strobel is a good author too – make sure you get the kid ones though, not the adult ones, because they have similar names.

These would probably be my favourite authors at the moment. I enjoy feminine stories, but I will quickly take an adventure book also, curl up, demand everyone to ‘not interrupt me’, curl up with an apple, and read for hours on end – like Jo from Little Women!

School books:

My Story– the My Story books are diary-format books that cover Australian History, written by various authors. I really enjoy them, so much so that I have to really concentrate to get what they’re teaching!

History Lives! – History Lives! Is a series that covers the Christian Church – starting at the Apostle Paul, and stopping at the end of the 17th century. I’ve only read the first one, but I’m sure I’ll enjoy them all. I’m sure you would too! Written by Mandy and Brandon Withrow.

Peril and Peace

Monks and Mystics

Courage and Conviction

I try to read several novels when I am studying something – for example, at the moment, I’m studying Rome.

Now, books I would recommend. Some of them are recreational, some are not.

Little Women Louisa May Alcott

Little Wives Louisa May Alcott

Jo’s Boys Louisa May Alcott

A Little Princess Frances Hodgson Burnett

A Secret Garden Frances Hodgson Burnett

What Katie Did ??

Roll of Thunder, Here my Cry Mildred D. Taylor

Hitler’s Daughter Jackie French

Pharaoh Jackie French – read it with careful eyes; some bits you may want to skim through. We read it as a read aloud; it definitely is only suitable for 13 +.

Twice Freed Patricia St. John

First Light Patricia St. John

I Needed a Neighbor Patricia St. John

Treasures in the Snow Patricia St. John

I am David Anne Holm

Hadassah Tommy Tenney (warning: there’s a book for adults by the same name and author)

The Wind in the Willows Graham Kenneth

Rachel’s Tears Beth Nimmo and Darrel Scott

Son of Charlemagne Barbara Willard

Carrie Woodlawn Carol Ryrie Brink

Victory on the Walls Frieda Clark Hyman

Daddy Long Legs Jean Webster

Winnie the Pooh by A.A Milne – and its sequel!

My Friend Flicka Mary O’ Hara

Series:

The Chronicles of Narnia C.S Lewis

Grandma’s Attic series – Arleta Richardson – nine in total

Trailblazers – lots and lots, written by several different authors! Some good ones are:

An Adventure Begins – Hudson Taylor

The Children’s Champion – George Muller

A Slave Set Free – John Newton

The Freedom Fighters’ – William Wilberforce

The Story Teller – C.S Lewis

Racing against the Tide – Joni Erickson Tada

(There are lots of ones out there; not all of them are about men; there are ones about Amy Carmichael and Isabel Kuhn.)

I didn’t realize there was so many! I think I’ll post what’s on my reading list another time! Yes, I have read all of those books!

Happy reading! Jessica

Leave a Reply

