Pledge my Head to Heaven?

This is – another! – song of Keith Green’s. This song took a lot of courage for him to write – as it should to us. This is the first part of the song.

Well, I pledge my head to heaven for the Gospel,

And I ask no man on Earth to fill my needs.

Like the sparrow up above, I am enveloped in His love,

And I trust Him like those little ones, He feeds.


Wow! He just trusted Jesus completely – Jesus meant the world to him – literally! His motto was “Live only for Him today – walk with Him for eternity!” which is a motto that needs to apply to us today. Could I really do that – for Jesus? I think we all would like to think we could, but would we really? Would I? (scroll down and read my post: Would I?) This song continues to talk about his wife – would he pledge his wife to Jesus – give it up for Jesus? What about his son? His voice? Talents? Home? Books? Friends? I’m talking about us now – would we give it up for the glory of God?

As we become more like Jesus, we will take victory! Even in small things – you’re giving it up for God’s name – giving up your way, your preference, your time, your favourite – for others and for Him – because of your love for Him and desire to please Him!

“We must focus on Jesus, the source and goal of our faith. He saw the joy ahead of him, so he endured death on the cross and ignored the disgrace it brought him. Then he received the highest position in heaven, the one next to the throne of God.” Hebrews 12:2

It’s a bit like what Peter says in The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe – “For Narnia and for Aslan!” He was fighting for the Kingdom’s freedom, but Peter was also fighting for Aslans’ sake (ever notice the analogy in The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe to Jesus’ death and resurrection?) – and it’s the same with us – as we give up what we give us up, for the you’s (remember, for each individual, you are not a you – you are a me, or an I!) – your’ giving it up for Him “…whatever you did for the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me” Mathew 26:40

The second part goes like this:

I’m your child, and I want to be in your family forever.

I’m your child, and I’m going to follow you,

No matter whatever the cost, I’m gonna count all things lost.

Oh no matter whatever the cost, I’m gonna count all things lost.

Well I’ve had the chance to gain the world, and to live just like a king,

But without your love, it doesn’t mean a thing.


Confirm it – you are God’s Child – and nothing can stop that – even death can’t break us apart from God’s love – “… neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons… can separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord” Romans 8:38

Don’t let Satan get to you! “…The devil is like a roaring lion; looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith…” 1 Peter 5:8-9

Remember though, that all glory goes to God… we are nothing without Him! We are all iIn Christ Alone. Do you know the song? “Here in the grace of God, I stand” – and nothing else!

“The One who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world” 1 John 4:4

“I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength!” Philippians 4:13

In Christ,

Jessica
PS: I found the lyrics from this web page here; a person has compiled his songs into either PDF file or HTML for others to read; all credit goes to The Sparrows Corporation. Keith or Melody Green are the main authors of His songs.

Leave a Reply

