Whatever the Cost

How would you feel if you were at Coles, when suddenly all you could hear was gunshots, and people screaming and running everywhere? I know I would be terrified. That’s what happened to Rachel Joy Scott, at Columbine High School, in Littleton, Colorado on 20th April 1999. Because of two teenagers, Eric Harris and Dylan Klebald, Rachel and eleven others died.

Ever since she became a Christian in 1994, Rachel strived to become more and more like Jesus. Joyfully living out everyday, she went out of her way to show other’s God’s love. “Tomorrow is not a promise, but a chance,” she often pointed out. She wanted others to know God’s love; she was not afraid to tell of what Jesus did for them – it eventually cost her her life.

“I am not going to apologize for speaking the Name of Jesus,” she once wrote, “I am not going to justify my faith to them, and I am not going to hide the light that God has put into me. If I have to sacrifice everything… I will”

She went out of her way, out of her comfort zone to encourage others and shine; she was completely honest. Her life was full of temptations, but she always went to God for help, even when she had failed him.

In her journals, Rachel poured out her heart to her heavenly father. It included her everyday life as well as her spiritual life; her journals were how she prayed to God. Parts of her journals are recorded in the book, Rachel’s Tears, written by Beth Nimmo and Darrel Scott, her divorced parents.

Eating lunch with a friend on a perfectly normal Tuesday, Rachel was shot three times on her body before the teens left, one of which returned, held her by her hair, asking,

“Do you believe in Jesus?”

“You know I do” she replied, before being shot in the head.

This book made me feel sad because of what happened to her and what her family had to go through, but it also encouraged me to ‘walk and talk’, as Rachel called witnessing. Rachel’s Tears showed me the importance of each day, and helped me realize just how much God loves me – I can’t mess up his love for me! It also helped me see how much life God has put into every day. Rachel Joy Scott’s life is such an encouragement to me to live out my faith, find the joy in every little thing, be myself, and to live for God whatever the cost!

Leave a Reply

